God takes a #nomakeup selfie- David Hayward

god-nomakeup-selfie

 

God takes a #nomakeup selfie and the deconstruction of your belief – See more at: http://nakedpastor.com/2014/03/god-takes-a-nomakeup-selfie-and-the-deconstruction-of-your-belief/#sthash.BbLIjHOq.dpuf

The mind is the product of the past, it is the result of yesterday, and can such a mind be open to the unknown? It can only project an image, but that projection is not real; so your god is not God, it is an image of your own making, an image of your own gratification. There can be reality only when the mind understands the total process of itself and comes to an end.

Krishnamurti 

– See more at: http://nakedpastor.com/2014/03/god-takes-a-nomakeup-selfie-and-the-deconstruction-of-your-belief/#sthash.UKybVyJ6.dpuf

The Apologist’s Evening Prayer

From all my lame defeats and oh! much more
From all the victories that I seemed to score;
From cleverness shot forth on Thy behalf
at which, while angels weep, the audience laugh;
From all my proofs of Thy divinity,
Thou, who wouldst give no sign, deliver me.

Thoughts are but coins. Let me not trust, instead
of Thee, their thin-worn image of Thy head.
From all my thoughts, even from my thoughts of Thee,
O thou fair Silence, fall, and set me free.
Lord of the narrow gate and the needle’s eye,
Take from me all my trumpery lest I die.

C.S. Lewis, Poems (1964)

These are the kindest things I can think about God right now.  And even then my thoughts about him who ‘ wouldst give no sign’ are not really very kind.

 

Leave a Reply

