Child abuse and God’s lack of protection

Speaking When the World Sleeps

I was always taught that God would protect me. That part of being a Christian was the belief that God was looking out for my well-being, that I should praise him for taking care of me and being there for me everyday. That he would hold me in his hands and keep me safe.

But at what point are you allowed to realize that God isn’t going to protect you? When every day the abuse doesn’t stop? When your father makes you wait for your “punishment” and in that moment of time you know that it’s going to happen and there’s no way out? When your abusers make it clear to you that they can do whatever they want to you, whenever they want to, and you can’t stop it? When it lasts for years and years? When you beg God for it to stop and it doesn’t?

This isn’t…

View original post 925 more words

Leave a Reply

